Cafe Landmark

Cafe Landmark
1/F, The Landmark, 16 Des Voeux Road Central,, Central
中環德輔道中12-16號置地廣場1樓
+852 2526 4200

I met Ms VL for lunch today and we decided to visit Cafe Landmark.  Cafe Landmark is one of the celeb hangout, which I am often amused about, because it’s actually quite an open area where the paparazzi’s can take a clear picture of you.  So if a celeb wanted to get him/herself in the Hong Kong newspaper talking to a producer/ being friendly with another celeb etc, this is the place to be.

We chose the lunch set, which is approx HKD$300 for a 2 course menu with tea or coffee.  We both chose the abalone clear soup to start off with.

 

photo 1 [800x600]Wow, this is really clear soup.  Where is that abalone?

photo 2 [800x600]Ohhhh we found it!  It was so small I am sure it’s barely legal, but it was quite tender and the soup has a nice flavour to it without a huge MSG hit.  I quite like it, although it felt more like an Asian soup which is quite weird in this Western style setting.

photo 3 [800x600]My main was the cheesy crab pasta.  It actually had prawns and crabs, but I don’t eat prawns so they omitted it for me, although I reckon they didn’t add more crab meat in cos Ms VL’s had the same dish with prawns and hers looked so much bigger.  Nonetheless this tasted quite delicious and the pasta was al dente.

The downside was that the service wasn’t as good as expected.  They seemed to want to whisk away our food too quickly, even before we finish sometimes!  It wasn’t even really busy that day so I am at loss as to why they wanted to kick us out.

It wasn’t the most value for money and yummiest Western food I have ever had, but the location is great.  I still wanted to go back though, apparently they do a kick ass lobster pasta…. nom nom nom.

