Cafe @ Crago Mill & Pantano’s Angus Bar & Grill

A recent work stint saw me nomming my way over Bathurst.  It’s actually my first work trip and I was so excited about it- until my colleague Gordo teased me and told me Bathurst only had 2 Maccas and a Hungry Jacks.  Thankfully that is INCORRECT!

photo 3 [800x600]It’s my second day here and this morning I decided to go for a walk around the hotel… It’s so foggy and cold in Bathurst but yet so beautiful!

photo 2 [800x600]

Cafe @ Crago Mill
2a Piper St Bathurst
02 6334 2003

photo 5 [800x600]I did my research a few days beforehand and heard pretty good reviews about Cafe @ Crago Mill, so I decided to drag Gordo there.  I ordered a chicken and mushroom pie which costs only $5.  It was quite large but I reckon I should probably asked for side salad with it.  One thing I don’t like about travelling is the lack of veggies in my diet.😦

photo 3 [800x600]I love this pie- it certainly hits the spot- the crust was delicious flaky and the chicken was oh-so-tender.  It has just enough sauce to make it super yummy but not soggy.  I love love love this.

photo 4 [800x600]What a less love is the scones.  I was looking forward to this huge warm fluffy scone but it ended up being this tiny thing which was microwaved.  Microwaved scones loses heat so quickly so it quickly comes cold, slightly hard and soggy by the time you eat the other half.  Sadness.

photo 2 [800x600]Overall I would still come back to this place for the pies- Gordo had a beef pie and it comes with a cute little heart. :D  I wanna try that one next time😀

Pantano’s Angus Bar & Grill
73 William St Bathurst, NSW
02 6331 1264

That night, after a long day at work, we went to Pantano’s Angus Bar & Grill for dinner.  The atmosphere was warm and welcoming there, and the special board said Moreton Bay Bug on top of Angus steak with creamy garlic sauce for $30.5!  Ohhhhh why not😀

I tried confirming with the waitress that’s the special (cos the specials board was really far away) and she looked confused and said “Bug?”  Apparently she has never heard of Moreton Bay Bug and kept telling me it’s a lobster.  =_=  Then she didn’t really know whether it comes with any sides and had to keep checking… =_=

photo [800x600]It made me wonder if I should order the dish but I did eventually ordered it and the boys have major food envy😀 Muahahahahaha!  The Moreton Bay Bug was fresh and nicely cooked, which I can’t say so for the steak.  Then again to be very fair I had order medium well (pre-pregnancy I would have ordered medium rare) so it’s hard to say whether that’s why the meat is so tough and dry.  I should really stop ordering bloody steak.  The problem is also other than the sauce it lacked any other flavours.  I dunno I think I had better steak elsewhere and the boys thought the same- it was OK, nothing special.

 
Cafe @ Crago Mill on Urbanspoon

Pantano's Angus Bar & Grill on Urbanspoon