Pigging Out in Bathurst: The Hub and Jack Duggan’s

photo 1 [800x600]Hello again from Bathurst!  It’s my third day in Bathurst and it’s still foggy as hell in Bathurst.  I still remember the first day I got here- the pilot tried landing but it was quite foggy.   As he descended we saw trees poking out of the fog… at the last minute the pilot pulled right up and circled about 15 mins up the sky!  Obviously he couldn’t actually find the landing strip and decided in the last second he didn’t want to land us onto the trees!  Yikes!

photo 4 [800x600]Anyway, by lunchtime everything is nice, warm and sunny and I decided to force Gordo to The Hub for lunch.  I heard great things about it from Urbanspoon (well, they ARE ranked Number One on Urbanspoon!) so I could hardly wait.
The Hub
52 Keppel St Bathurst
02 6332 1565

photo 1 [800x600]For some reason I had this impression that Bathurst is a small town with simple food, like pies… and pubs… and pies.  But funnily enough, The Hub in Bathurst has an interesting menu- yes there are burgers and all, but there are also exotic salads.  You’ll see later.  But first, we had some super refreshing drink- I ordered a coconut water w lime and mint $6.5 and Gordo ordered lemongrass, ginger and cranberry iced tea $6.5.

photo 2 [800x600]We had a huge dinner the other night and my tummy wasn’t feeling particularly well, so I decided to order a chicken salad, sans onion $21.9.  This ain’t just a simple chicken salad- it has all the superfoods like kale, quinoa, avocado… plus carrots, almonds, currants and mixed leaves.  It was so delicious and felt so healthy!  I would love to replicate this at home!

I can’t wait to go back to The Hub and try more food, especially their breakfast🙂

After another long and tiring day at work, we found ourselves wanting comfort food.  Our colleagues decided to take us to Jack Duggan’s.

Jack Duggan’s Irish Pub
135 George Street Bathurst
02 6331 2712

Jack Duggan’s apparently is a guy from a popular bushrangers ballad, who was a criminal that was sent to Australia to live in Bathurst Goal.  But he escaped and became a bushranger.  Kinda like Ned Kelly maybe?  Anyway, so this is his pub😛

photo 3 [800x600]I feel like carbs after the healthy salad today, so I ordered the St Patrick’s Pasta.  But if I get to choose again, I think I would probably order the chicken schintzel, or a Sister Mary’s rabbit pie or Steak and Guinness Pot Pie or Shepherd’s Pie…. Mmmmmm.  Anywayz, I got what I got, which is linguini w squid, olives and chilli $23.  It was ok, nothing special and the squid was a bit tough.  My colleagues  had the Mexican chicken schintzel, and they told me it was super tender :(  Dammit- food envy.

photo 4 [800x600]I managed to also convince Gordo to share some Irish curry chips $8 with me.  I didn’t know what Irish curry chips was, but it turned out to be this huge ass bucket of chips with curry dipping sauce.  It tasted really really awesome but it was so HUGE that we barely made a dent on it, even though we kept picking on it.  I felt like taking the whole bucket back to the hotel and just eat it alllllll night, it was that good.

OK, next time, if I ever go back there- I promise I will eat real pub food!  Until next time…

xx

Piggyeatalot

The Hub on Urbanspoon
Jack Duggan's Irish Pub on Urbanspoon