Naked in The Sky

Naked in The Sky
285 Brunswick St, Fitzroy VIC 3065
(03) 9416 2238

photo 2 [800x600]Happy Queen’s Birthday!  Basketballfreak decided to come for a visit on Queen’s Birthday weekend so I have been taking him all the food places around the ‘hood.  Coincidentally I have taken him to SAINT Crispin, POPE Joan, Naked for SATAN and if HELL of the North wasn’t fully booked we would have gone there.  It was kinda weird.

photo 1 [800x600]I stumbled across Naked in the Sky whilst looking for the toilets in Naked for Satan and decided that the view is awesome enough I would revisit one day.  So here we are, Queen’s Birthday Monday and Naked for Satan surprisingly was actually doing some $9 lunch specials, no surcharge, even though it’s a public holiday, and even though some place *ahem* love you but Hardware Socetie *ahem* is charging 10% public holiday surcharge.  Score!

photo 4 [800x600]Of course I would expect that the lunch specials will mean smaller portions, but to us it just means we can order more food to try!  I ordered the Soft Shell Crab w vizcaina red capsicum sauce.  I dunno what vizcaina is and google search said it’s this Basque cod stew?  Well it doesn’t taste much like cod sauce, just plain capsicum to me.  The soft shell crab had wayyyyy too much batter, Basketballfreak didn’t mind too much about it but Hubby and I just wrinkled our noses.

photo 3 [800x600]I don’t like prawns but the boys shared this prawn skewers w bacon and salsa and thought it was pretty awesome.

photo 5 [800x600]I love croquettes and when I saw fried cheese & walnut croquette I thought I’d give it a try.  Unfortunately the whole thing tasted pretty off and none of us like it.

photo 1 (2) [800x600]This braised beef cheek was oh-so-tender but Basketballfreak reckons it needed more flavour.  I was quite happy with it, although I am not a huge meat lover.

photo 2 (2) [800x600]I think we all love this last dish though, without any doubt.  Grilled octopus w some sort of foamy potato puree and sweet smoked paprika.  The octopus simply melts in your mouth and the potato was light and airy, even though it had a sensational buttery flavour to it.  We were so impressed by this dish we actually ordered seconds!

Service-wise we found Naked in the Sky a bit lacking.  The staff WERE run off their feet as the dining room, at 1:30pm was still full.  We had to ask them each time to give us water and when Basketballfreak asked for recommendation for cocktails the waitress was not very willing to give any suggestions.  She just said she has different taste than other people, which I thought was fine, but she could have asked him whether he liked fruity/ bitter/ sweet flavours and suggest a few things from there!  Our second octopus dish also took forever to arrive, however to give them credit they did chase it up and came back to us with a timeframe.

All in all, 7/10 and for $30 per person with alcohol it wasn’t too bad!

Naked In the Sky on Urbanspoon