Ruyi

RuYi Modern Chinese
16 Liverpool St Melbourne, VIC
03 9090 7778

photo 1 (2) [800x600]“Are you doing your farewell tour?” Hubby asked one day.  “What do you mean?” I said.  “You are having lunch with people every day these days!” he said.  Well I suppose you can call it that LOL, as my journey to Hong Kong to give birth gets closer and closer, I have more lunch catch ups than before, to hopefully see everyone before I pop :)  Today, I am having lunch with Megarama and a bunch of friends from work and she has suggested going to Ruyi, a Chinese restaurant I have been dying to go to since I walked past a couple of weeks ago.

I love the decor of this restaurant, it felt so homey and comfortable, it’s great especially in this cold miserable winter weather.  We booked a table for four, but to be honest, there was no need.  There is only our table for the whole of lunch.

photo 2 (2) [800x600]Most of us decided to order the lunch set $18 for a variety of small dishes to try.  For starters we have this soup of the day, duck tofu and egg droplet soup which was nice and warming to the soul.

photo 4 [800x600]

Dumplings were next, and even though they say “2 dumplings” on the menu, they gave us three :)  Thanks so much!  Maybe they know I am eating for two, but then everyone got 3 as well :D  This  was served in a bowl of vinegary soy sauce.  I don’t mind it but I do find the dumpling skin a bit thick and the filling slightly dry.

photo 3 (2) [800x600]Fried spicy chicken wings (they gave us 3 again even though the menu said 2- they are being so generous :D) was my highlight- the chicken wings were juicy and flavoursome.  Only one drawback was that one of my chicken wing was ever so slightly undercooked, which was sad because I really really want to finish it.

photo 3 [800x600]Last but not least we had this duck bao bao.  Once again, almost there but not quite.  The bun was ever so slightly tough but nonetheless the duck was flavoursome and the vegies inside it was fresh and crispy.  Ahhhh too bad about the bun!

photo 2 [800x600]This is not included in our set but I did have food envy seeing Mikey order this Pan fried pork and chive dumpling.

I really wanted to like this place but it does need a bit of improvement before I can wholeheartedly recommend it.  At the moment though, it sits at 6.5/10, almost a 7.  Please please please improve cos I really want to come back and I really hope you guys have more people here at lunch time!

 
RuYi Modern Chinese on Urbanspoon