Mook Ji Bar

Mook Ji Bar
406 Lonsdale St Melbourne
03 9600 2661

photo 1 [800x600]I am so glad that my colleagues is happy to indulge in my cravings for Korean food.  Hubby always refused to eat Korean but for some reason the boys in my company are happy to eat with me… all I have to do is to indulge in their weird and dirrty ramblings some times….but that’s OK, it’s right up my ally.. bahahahahahaha.

photo 2 [800x600]I have always wanted to try Mook Ji Bar… it had this weird greasiness in the shop front that seemed to hide something promising, often with a stream of Asian and Korean-looking customers queuing out the door.

photo 5 [800x600]The boys indulged me by ordering this Kimchi pancake $15.  I love kim chi so this kimchi pancake is right up my alley.  The pancake was crispy on the outside and super flavoursome on the inside, with a little kick to it.  This pancake is also extremely huge- the four of us definitely could not finish this with our mains!

photo 3 [800x600]

When I was a student living in Brisvegas, I love having this seafood tofu stew with my friends.  I haven’t had a good seafood tofu stew in Melbourne that is as good as the ones in Brisbane, but I reckon Mook Ji Bar has finally beat the Brisvegas eateries hands down.  This stew $13 has fresh big clams, fairly fresh seafood and silky tofu.  The tofu soup was slightly spicy but awesomely flavoursome.  I kept having mouthfuls and mouthfuls of it even though I am extremely full by then.  This dish is definitely worth risking heartburn for :P  Heehee.

photo 4 [800x600]The boys had Stone Pot Bimbimbap $15.  Although the three boys ordered the same thing at the same time, the three Stone Pots arrived at totally different times, almost 20 mins between the three.  Weird.  It does look extremely good though, although I would probably not order this cos I am so obsessed by Spicy Seafood Tofu Soup.  Heehee

I can’t wait to go back to try other food there next time!  8/10

Mook Ji Bar on Urbanspoon