The Boatbuilders Yard, South Wharf

The Boatbuilders Yard
23 South Wharf Promenade South Wharf
03 9686 5088

photo 1 [800x600]It was an unusally sunny day in Melbourne and I was meeting JW & PP for brunch.  We have walked past The Boatbuilders Yard many many times and have always wanted to try it, with this gorgeous weather we decided to sit outside and enjoy some sunshine.

photo 3 [800x600]PP wanted their fish and chips, but it seemed to be only available at noon, so she decided to wait whilst JW and I ordered our brekkie.  JW ordered the corn fritters $17.5 while I thought the brekkie pie, complete with ham, cheese, tomato, egg, salad and relish $14 sounded enticing.  I was also tempted by their side of hash brown $2.5 and decided the baby wanted that😛

photo 2 [800x600]My “pie” came and it looked less like a pie and more like a frittata/ quiche thing.  I was a bit disappointed.  I maybe I was imaging this whole pie but I only got a slice of it?  I don’t know.  Either way the pastry was a bit soggy, although the ham was quite nice.  It’s okay.  The highlight of my dish is probably the hash brown.  It was hot, crunchy and salty- just the way I like it.  I also ordered a freshly squeezed orange juice but felt really watered down with a lot of ice and I couldn’t detect any pulp… Is it really freshly squeezed?  I dunno.

photo 4 [800x600]JW’s corn fritters with smoked salmon was OK, he felt that there is too little corn in it, although I didn’t try it.

photo 5 [800x600]PP really liked her fish and chips $18, she said it really hits the spot for her and it does look really good.  I reckon I had a bit of a food envy😛

Overall, I reckon I wouldn’t go out of my way to come back again, but living so close to South Wharf it would be a bit hard to resist coming back.  Then again there are so many great options in South Melbourne- if only I could be bothered driving….

 

The Boatbuilders Yard on Urbanspoon