Dead Man Espresso Reloaded!

Dead Man Espresso
35 Market St South Melbourne
03 9686 2255
photo 1 [640x480]I don’t know how long I have not seen Ange for… I think it was at least 5 years!  But we found out that we are both pregnant on Facebook and decided to meet up for brunch.  It’s amazing how some friends just picked up where we left off, even if we haven’t seen each other for ages!

Ange haven’t been to Dead Man Espresso before so I thought we should go there for breakfast.  I wish this pic was from that day, but sadly we went at a dreary weather Saturday, this was from my previous Dead Man post, available here.

photo 1 [800x600]I ordered a weak mocha- I think I like the one in Cafe Vue Heide better, not because that one was cuter, but it seemed smoother, creamier and not as bitter.  I guess it depends on personal preference really.

photo 3 [800x600]Great minds think alike and that’s what I like about Ange- I was debating between sweet and savoury and she came to the rescue by simply saying, “Let’s order one sweet and one savoury and share!”  We were both eyeing on the Green Pancakes, but it has smoked salmon in it.  Thankfully our waiter came to the rescue, offering us avocado in lieu of salmon, even though the menu did say “sorry no alterations on the weekend”.  Thank you🙂

The Green Pancakes $18 was amazing- super healthy and light.  It was fantastic with avocado (I do have an avocado craving and they are so exxy at the moment!).  The only downside was that the poached egg wasn’t fully cooked even though we asked for it.  Still, it wasn’t completely runny so we deemed it safe for consumption (i.e. above 65 degrees and all the germs are dead).

photo 2 [800x600]I was eyeing on the hot cakes longingly but I remembered last time the hotcakes was way too sweet.  But Ange wanted hotcakes too and we decided to order it.  Amazingly the waiter (I wish I had his name!) seemed to read our minds and suggest that we add a side of bacon $4.5 so there’s a little bit of savoury with it.

Now this time, the hotcakes $14.5 with pistachio, ginger poached pears, toffee syrup & mascarpone was sensational.  Especially the mascarpone which has bits of vanilla bean in it.  Yum Yum.

After a really great brekkie there, I can’t wait to go back again.  Next time I won’t be waiting half a year between feeds at Dead Man Espresso!  8.5/10