Cottle on Coventry

Cottle on Coventry
300 Coventry St South Melbourne, VIC
03 9699 4700

After a fantastic workout at South Melbourne, Shoe Queen and I decided to check out our options for brekkie.  We have been going to Giddiup every week for the past few weeks, so we decided to shake things up a bit by seeing what’s cool on the other side of the road. 😛

photo 1 [800x600]

Turns out there is a place called “Cottle on Coventry” on the other side of the road.  They do some sort of brekkie special of toasted piadina, $12.75 with a “cuppa”.  I am craving for haloumi nowadays, so I ordered the mushroom and haloumi piadina with soy chai.

photo 2 [800x600]My soy chai didn’t really have complex spicey flavours… I think my favourite soy chai is still the one in Mr. Tulk.😦

photo 4 [800x600]My piadina was surprisingly fantastic – surprisingly cos I haven’t heard much about this place with the Chez Dres, St Alis and Dead Man Espressos being so popular in South Melbourne.  The piadina is light and fluffy, the haloumi and mushroom was a match made in heaven and there is even side salad to make things even more healthy.  It was quite yum.

photo 3 [800x600]Shoe Queen had the All day “Cake and Cuppa” Special, for $8 you get a cake and coffee.  Shoe Queen had kindly shared half of her cake with me, which is like a molten chocolate cake with peanut buttttteeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrr.  Love love love.  Shoe Queen reckons that the coffee ain’t as great as Clement’s but it was still alright.

Overall I am pretty impressed by Cottle on Coventry.  It might not offer anything fancy, but they do provide pretty good cafe style food.  7/10

Cottle on Coventry on Urbanspoon