Old Town White Coffee

My lovely friend Monkylicious mentioned that there is this new Malaysian cafe opened in the CBD the other day so we decided to check it out. We agreed to meet outside the cafe and Monkylicious even gave me the name and address, however my post pregnancy brain seemed to erase all essential information these days so I got totally lost.

Googling this place is useless. Well first of all I googled “old town black coffee” instead of “old town white coffee”, which somehow led me to the Taiwanese joint on Swanston st… I stood there for about 5 mins looking confused and then message Monkylicious… She is “Old Town WHITE coffee! Silly bugger! On Elizabeth st!” So I searched Old Town White Coffee which came back as “Old Town Kopitan” which used to be in QV, now Papparich.

So it turns out google doesn’t really know everything.

Anyway, I digress.

We arrived at 12 noon, just in the nick of time before the lunchtime crowd started streaming in at 12:30. As they opened fairly recently their ordering system seemed to be a work in progress, they doubled up our drinks order and missed another table’s prawn noodles.

I ordered Ipoh hor fun, mainly attracted by the fact that they made their own noodles, whereas Monkylicious ordered laksa.

The portions were huge!!!

Monkylicious’ laksa was brimming with fish balls, tofu, charsiu and a big chunk of chicken and whilst she really liked it she is more used to a more coconuty version. I quite like hers though as I love spicy food and the soup broth has a nice rich flavour.

My hor fun was a bit plain by comparison, but quite nice as I have been fairly sick and wanted something plain. On the menu it said that the soup is made with chicken and prawn stock but I must say I couldn’t detect any prawn flavours. The chicken meat was not very fresh either which was also slightly disappointing. The highly anticipated hor fun (rice noodles) were silky smooth enough, however it may have been slightly overcooked as it disintegrated a bit and clumped together.

Overall I felt that the food and service could improve, but given the fact that they were quite new and there are still quite a number of things I wanted to try I would not hesitate going back🙂

Click to add a blog post for Oldtown White Coffee on Zomato