Alluvial

Intercontinental Melbourne
495 Collins St, Melbourne
(03) 8627 1567

Got a groupon voucher, $40 for 2 buffet breakfast. First of all kudos to them for letting me change my booking on the day of attendance because I was extremely ill that day. They happily rebooked me on another day but when I turned up the booking wasn’t there! Grrr…

Thankfully after a bit of fuss they let us in, and gave us a low down of the food on offer. Breads and pastries in the main area, hot brekkie and yoghurt in a separate room and a Nesspresso machine in the middle. What? Not even real coffee?!

Their brekkie selection was not huge either, hot dishes include egg station, sausages, bacon, mushroom, tomatoes, baked beans… all the standard offerings, not really that tasty either. One redeeming factor was the hash brown, instead of letting it soak in oil and steam in the bay Marie it was out in a rack.

What am I quite disappointed was the sweet offerings- no waffles, pancakes or crumpets! Say what?!?! Nice chocolate in the choc croissant though the pastry is rubbish.

I was also into the juice station as well, you can DIY your own juice combo.

Perhaps for $20 it was acceptable, but I pity those who weren’t on the Groupon deal… Seriously if you have to fork out $40 for this kind of food you might as well walk a few blocks down the road for better brekkie.

Click to add a blog post for Alluvial Restaurant-Intercontinental Melbourne - The Rialto on Zomato

